Last night at Spa Riviera was a lot of fun!

By Joy A. Kennelly

Next time I do an event like this, I hope to have a lot more help! I always forget how much work producing an event is, especially when you’re coordinating multiple sponsors/companies/personalities. But it’s always worth it in the end.

Fortunately, I met a woman at a recent Rotary Club meeting who is going to refer USC interns to work with me since a lot of her students want more hands on experience than a bigger PR firm will offer.

So true! I don’t have interns only copy and file, but have actually given previous interns opportunities for real life experience since it’s just me running the whole shebang and I need help doing a variety of PR activities. Plus, it’s great experience to have on your resume!

If you are interested in an unpaid internship and don’t mind commuting to the South Bay (although some work is virtual too), please send your resume to: joy@thejoywriter.com. I’m going to need more help once some of these deals I’ve been working on close.

I feel last night’s event was a great success for a first time ever promotion. Everything just flowed like clock work. (I’m taking the liberty of copying my thoughts from last night from my other blog because it was fresher then, but I’ll edit it and add more…)

We had a great turn-out. Once I figure out how to upload pix from my new camera and receive pix from others, I’ll share them with you! One of our local residents, Kim, who I’ve become friendly with while politicking, was very sweet and came early to help set up.

You gotta love people like her who are so servant-hearted. I think she’s my new best friend. LOL We all agree she looks like a younger, beautiful Maria Shriver.

Actress Maria Rangel was in all her glory sharing her experiences on NBC’s hit show, Age of Love, with a rapt group of women. It was really cute to watch. We all agreed the “tennis guy” was cute, but dull. I guess if all you do is play sports and nothing else… Boring! I don’t care how cute you are…

In addition to the wonderful Yummy soy candles she was selling, Maria literally gave this woman the dress off her back from her new line of Yummy designs to try on. I was laughing so hard I think I forgot to take pix, but I do believe our other photographer did.

I hope to receive some of those pix, but in the meantime, imagine one lovely long blonde haired woman modeling this extremely sexy long dress for all of us to admire. Then imagine the other lovely brunette woman (Maria) wrapped in nothing other than a spa wrap towel cheering her on! Too funny and so Maria. I just love that girl!

The Gochi drink was a huge hit too because after all, Oprah endorses it! And Oprah is god-like right? Also, Dr. Oz, Time Magazine and so many more call it a Super Food! Gotta try it! Trust me. You’ll be so amazed at how good you feel! It has changed my life by controlling my hormones which I am so happy about. Believe me, so are others!

Chef Melinda booked her first wedding cake order and cupcake delivery order too. Go Chef Melinda! Her new company name is Sugar Cups – isn’t that adorable? “Get your cake and eat it too!”

The red velvet cupcakes were so tasty, I wish I had another one right now. Perfect gifts for Valentine’s Day if anyone needs a nice company present for anyone. Hint, hint.:)

Spa Riviera Owner, Tony Cutrona, was a hit with the ladies and men because everyone wants to look years younger with his amazing microdermabrasion treatments. I especially enjoyed his new massage therapist, Martha’s gifted hands as she released some of my tension during a chair massage. Hopefully I can book one today!

Lou-e-Luey’s outdid themselves too. Award-winning Chef Rafael’s shrimp ceviche is absolutely divine, as was everything else, and everyone was asking for cards all night long. I had no idea they were such a great Baja seafood place and had won so many awards! I really must visit soon. They were a referral from a friend and were really wonderful.

Highly recommend Chef Rafael and his delicious food! Thank you!!!

Otherwise, prepping some other new clients today and meeting more later on. Then this weekend in a conference both days which I’m very interested in attending. It’s called the Armstrong Method and although I personally have never met the leader, my friend has and highly recommends her. We shall see!

I hope to have pix to upload soon and appreciate you swinging by.

Come again!

Leave a Reply

