Life just keeps getting busier and better!

By Joy A. Kennelly

My non-stop day yesterday started at 7:30am with the MB Chamber Young Professionals planning meeting and ended at 9:30pm with the South Bay Internet Entrepreneur‘s meeting on Guerrilla Tactics to Flood Your Website. I haven’t been out all day like that in a long time! Very fun, but also very busy.

Finally met Sonja McColgan of California Associates who I have been talking to over the phone for almost a year and we hit it off so well she has agreed to host our next South Bay Professional Connection event! We’re still formulating all the details, but save Tuesday, May 27, 2008 from 5:30pm – 7:30pm on your calendar.

Sonja McColgan is a career coach expert, and her father, Darold Verch, is an insurance expert. Put the two together and you have a great mix of industries, people and networking. What I’m very happy we’re doing as part of our upcoming event is honoring her brother, Brent Verch, who recently passed away. We will be supporting his charity, The Brent Verch Memorial Foundation.

I didn’t know Brent, but tears came to my eyes when I learned he was only 41 when he passed away only two months ago. He must have been a great guy. Isn’t this beautiful?

Don’t grieve for me, for now I’m free

I’m following the path God laid for me,

I took His hand when I heard him call

I turned my back and left it all.

I could not stay another day

To laugh, to love, to work or play.

Tasks left undone must stay that way.

I found that place at the close of day.

If my parting has left a void

Then fill it with remembered joy.

A friendship shared, a laugh, a kiss.

Ah yes, these things, I too, will miss.

Be not burdened with times of sorrow.

I wish you the sunshine to tomorrow.

My life’s been full, I savored much.

Good friends, good times, a loved one’s touch.

Perhaps my time seemed all to brief;

Don’t lengthen it now with undue grief.

Lift up your heart and share with me

God wanted me now, he set me free.

More details on our 5/27 event will be forthcoming, but just know, this event will be a celebration of Brent’s life AND the grand launch of CA Associates and Verch Insurance Service’s beautiful new location in El Segundo, CA. We’re still putting all the finishing details on this which I will be sharing more soon.

On another note, I visited the Grand Opening of YogaWorks last night on the invitation of a friend. Plaza El Segundo, where YogaWorks is located, has lots of other great new stores and restaurants – check it out! I’m not into Yoga because of a shoulder injury which prevents me from doing a lot of the movements, but if I was, this is where I would go!

They have a huge selection of classes, the membership fee is great because you can take as many classes as you want in the month (unlike other places that sell package deals that are just as expensive, but perhaps not as expansive), and it’s a beautiful setting.

Whoever is behind this company does things right. There were guided tours explaining all the attributes. You were greeted with champagne and fruit flavored water. I chose the champagne, but soon regretted it because I had a splitting headache almost immediately after. Beginning to think I’m allergic to alcohol! Bummer!

The catering company provided very healthy appetizers and luscious desserts in a separate tent setting with attentive wait staff. There were many, many women there I’d never seen before with a few guys thrown in for color. I enjoyed my time and met some new people before dashing off to hit Bob’s Happy Hour at Club 705 again briefly since I had promised I’d come back.

Enjoyed my time there chatting with some of the guys (despite them having very dirty little minds), then dashed off to my evening internet meeting. Was pleasantly surprised to see MB WIB Woman of the Year, Mary A. Vassilakis, there who’d I’d just seen at the MB WIB conference, but didn’t have time to chat since I left early due to my headache almost blinding me. Should have packed aspirin!

Fortunately, they’re continuing the seminar next month which will allow me to go back and catch up on what I missed leaving a little early. The brain power in that room was a little overwhelming. These are very smart people and I’m going to love being part of this group.

Check out the founder Stephen’s site: http://www.detoxion.com/ A man after my own heart! Someone else who believes in the power of Chinese medicine. Go Stephen!:)

Today, received a call from an emerging artist I will begin working with next week. She’s delightful and I’m excited to share her work with you. More on her opening soon.

Hitting the free Blues Traveler’s concert tonight at Hollywood Park. Check out their summer long concert series. Very good line-up. Should be interesting as I’ve never been there before and am curious who all attends. Should be fun! We’re VIP’s, front row center – Yeah!

Otherwise, busy promoting my next GoChi Happy Hour at Sharkeez MB. Here’s the invite in case you’ve missed it. See ya there!

Leave a Reply

