Sometimes you just need to get away from it all…

By Joy A. Kennelly

I’m writing from Miami, FL where I’ve been enjoying the sun, beach and pool every day. Never knew how much I needed this brief respite until today when I actually feel 100% after a long stint of bronchitis. It’s been real nice to not think about clients or anything else but myself for once.

Not that I don’t love my clients and my work, but sometimes you just need to recharge and rejuvenate away from the day to day stuff to regain your creative juices. I’m just now, after three days here, starting to feel like I can get back to work and think about the future.

I woke up with some fun ideas I want to implement for the South Bay Professional Connection when I return which is all because I’m here in Miami. They really market this area well. I’m definitely taking notes because the South Bay can use some new marketing.

I’ve also enjoyed soaking up some of the local art deco buildings and art on display. I’ll upload images later. Did you know that Jewish settlers were the first to come to Miami? Also, the reason Mt. Sinai was created out here was because back in the day there was a lot of segregation which forced them to create this separate hospital for all the Jewish people who lived here.

It’s always fascinating to me to learn of other groups of people who experience racism and prejudice because it’s not something I normally think about not having to face it myself except for maybe my gender every so often.

There’s a Jewish synagogue museum called aptly enough, The Jewish Museum of Florida. I loved the director’s quote which I’m paraphrasing here, Even if you’re not Jewish you’ll feel a sense of family. Isn’t that sweet?

On another note, it always shocks me when people want to say the Holocaust never happened. That’s why I took the time to visit the amazing Holocaust Memorial here in the heart of South Beach that is hauntingly beautiful.

I bet you didn’t even know this existed since the nightlife so often overshadows the art that’s available here. Apparently now however, the Miami Convention & Visitor Bureau has decided to begin creating a more sophisticated image for their city and focusing more on their arts and culture than sexy nightlife.

Especially in light of the success of their popular Art Basel Miami Beach which “is the most important art show in the United States, a cultural and social highlight for the Americas. As the sister event of Switzerland’s Art Basel, the most prestigious art show worldwide for the past 38 years, Art Basel Miami Beach combines an international selection of top galleries with an exciting program of special exhibitions, parties and crossover events featuring music, film, architecture and design.

Exhibition sites are located in the city’s beautiful Art Deco District, within walking distance of the beach and many hotels.” (according to the official Art Basel Miami Beach site.)

I have loved seeing all the art deco buildings, including Versace’s mansion, and am eager to visit the Lowe Art Museum tomorrow. I know. How boring. Only me! I bet I’m one of the few singles all excited over an art museum, but I can’t help myself. It’s the way I was raised.

We would always hit all the museums in town, stay at the most inexpensive places, and then visit all the high-end resorts for a nice meal. Guess old habits are hard to break! You do see a lot more of the country when you don’t allow your finances to dictate how you enjoy yourself right? LOL

I also plan to hit the Miami Design area because I’m curious what art galleries are out here. I feel that a city’s art reflects the mood of the people which I look forward to seeing up close and personal.

Okay, that’s all for now. Just wanted to check in because I finally feel like I can breathe. I know once I get home I’ll have to hit the ground running again. But for now, am going to hit my Miami friend’s GoChi Juice tasting party and then experience a little of the nightlife with him afterwards. Should be fun and just what the doctor ordered.

Hope you have a great evening! Mark your calendars for my South Bay Professional Connection event on May 29th! You’re not going to want to miss this one!:)

Leave a Reply

